Sanguine Dreams and Melancholy Thoughts

When the curtain of darkness falls

And the lure of sleep too hard to resist

Dreams wash over me like ocean waves

Taking my mind upon a pleasurable voyage

Fanciful wishes within my grasp

Desires fulfilled within a blink of an eye

Sanguine dreams visit my slumber

Blissfully accompanying my journey through sleep

But when daylight rays rouse me to waking

The cold stark realities of life sink back in

Melancholy thoughts cascade like a hail storm

Sombre the mood as the tedium sets in

All through the day I dream of my bed

Counting the minutes as they fade into history

Until I can empty my mind for the battle ahead

Where happiness slays victorious over my daytime despair

Copyright: authorchrisbrown

Standard

Leave a Reply

