Lonely Vigil

She cried again last night, woken by nightmares that haunt her sleep. I comfort her, kissing away the tears that streamed from her eyes. Held her in my arms until sleep tore her away from me again.

Every night, for as long as I recall, she is haunted by visions of that which she will not speak. I will not push. I sit with her in my arms, my lonely vigil, keeping my own slumber at arms length. Watching over her, my sacrifice for the one I love.

Copyright: authorchrisbrown 

Standard

Leave a Reply

