Comfort in connected isolation

Some say I’m weird, usually for differing reasons, but most commonly because of my new found loathing of human interaction. I will pass pleasantries with those I consider friends, hold actual conversations with those dearest, but more often I will simply offer a smile.

I find comfort in isolation. Being alone with my own thoughts, usually in silence, allowing time to simply evaporate without stress or worry. I’m comfortable with myself as company.

That said, being sociable via social media has become almost intrinsically as important as drinking or eating. It allows me to be selective over which conversations to join, those to merely ‘listen in on’ and those of which to ignore all together.

I think I’ll continue being labelled weird, continue having myself for company. There are certainly far less social politics in a demographic of one.

Standard

Leave a Reply

